FEATURED MEMBER – David Geaney

Posted on January 25, 2011

0


                

http://davidgeaney.co.uk/

David Geaney is a graphic-designer based in Cardiff. A graduate of Newport University, his work spans the fields of print design, web design, and three-dimensional motion graphics.

  

Q.  What motivated you to get into graphic design?

A.  After school I began a degree in printing management, but dropped out halfway through the first year as I didn’t enjoy a lot of the classes. The only module which I really enjoyed was pre-press/graphic design. So I began looking into graphic design and what it involved and took up a course the following year.

Q.  You created an installation and a short film charting your own carbon footprint. Can you tell us more about that?

A.  I’m passionate about the environment and so this was a clear direction for me to go in. I had created an infographic poster which presented all of the data making up my carbon footprint for one year. I love infographics and wanted to see how I could translate this same data through other medias such as installation and motion graphics.
 
The installation piece is a 6 foot by 6 foot structure, again showing the breakdown of my own carbon footprint over one year. Each tube represents one category of my carbon footprint. I wanted the structure to be very striking and overwhelming when viewed close up.
 
For the CGI movie I again took this same data and tried to present it in a different and interesting way, invoking emotion by including music and narration.

Q.  You work in a variety of areas – print, web design and three dimensional motion graphics. What would you consider your specialty?

A.  I have worked in print design ever since I began studying graphic design, then a few years later began web design and more recently three dimensional motion graphics. I really enjoy working in different medias and couldn’t say any one is a specialty. I definitely want to gain more web design experience so I plan to put some focus on that for now.

Q.  Are there any other designers who have had a significant influence on you?

A.  Yes probably lots of them but I don’t know in what way; some of my favourites have been Paul Rand, Tibor Kalman and Stefan Sagmeister.

Q.  Does your approach to design change depending on the nature of the project, or is there a common philosophy you bring to all of your work?

A.  My approach is similar to all projects, I usually begin by researching the given product/industry etc.  and then go on to brainstorming ideas. I don’t think I have a philosophy as such, I just try come up with a solution which is unique and interesting.

Q.  How important is the distinction between commercial and noncommercial work? Are projects undertaken for corporate clients fundamentally different from personal projects?

A.  There is usually going to be more freedom involved in personal projects; this makes for a better outcome but the lack of direction can be challenging.

Q.  What challenges does working with three dimensional graphics present?

A.  I decided for my final university project that I would create 3D graphics before I had ever actually used the software, so my biggest challenge was to skill myself up on the software quickly.

Q.  What would be your dream project?

A.  I would say something to do with social change on a big scale and the budget would be unlimited.

Q.  What do you hope to achieve in 2011?

A.  Make design work in new medias, keep on learning new technologies and skills and take on more projects and collaborations.

Q.  How do you hope Pelime can help with this?

A.  It will give me an opportunity to get in touch with some like-minded designers and hopefully we will do some great work together.

    

Posted in: regular